KP says

Nine Inch Nails - "The Slip", CD, [2008] [Record Review]

Nine Inch Nails - The Slip

Here's a short review capturing my thoughts about the new NIN album that can be downloaded for free on the Official NIN site. It will be released as a proper cd later this year. The album has a bit too many fillers to really hit it off. Especially the long instrumental "Corona Radiata" is a problem. But you'll find great stuff on there as well. It probably only deserves 3 and a half stars out of six, but I don't deal with half stars, so 4 it is. I've listed the songs in the album order.

  • 999,999 is a short instrumental and basically just an intro to "1,000,000".
  • 1,000,000 is quite an ordinary up tempo NIN song. It's not bad at all and works okay as the album opener. "I feel a million miles away, I don't feel anything at all"
  • Letting You is a pretty distorted and somewhat repetitive up tempo song and there's nothing too special about it.
  • Discipline is very much NIN trademark and with some single potential. It would have fit in perfectly on "With Teeth". However it is a bit too repetitive especially near the end to hit a top ranking. The video is hilarious though.
  • Echoplex is a really cool song and among the best songs on the album. "My voice just echoes off these walls, I don't need anything at all." Something really cool about the simple drum loop and the rest of the musical arrangement.
  • Head Down is another distorted thing, but with some nice melody lines caught in between. It is not bad at all once you get into it.
  • Lights in the Sky is a quiet ballad. It has a rather simple melody and is not nearly among Trent's greatest ballads.
  • Corona Radiata is an instrumental that sounds like an outtake from "Ghost I-IV". It is the albums longest song and it is basically just a slow soundscape, and not very interesting. Should not have been included.
  • The Four of Us Are Dying is also an instrumental track. This one is however a lot more interesting than "Corona Radiata". Easily the best instrumental on this album.
  • Demon Seed is the album's last song and it is great and clearly one of the best songs on the album. It has great drums and a killer rhythm. Trent's whispering words sounds cool and the song almost puts you in a trance. "Now I know exactly what I am".

Rating: 4

Band: Nine Inch Nails

Record Title: The Slip

This Release: 2008

Record Format: CD

Record Label: NIN

Content Type: Record Review

Language: EN

Updated: 2008-05-06 16:17

Created: 2008-05-06 15:05

An error has occurred. This application may no longer respond until reloaded. Reload 🗙