KP says

Motörhead - "The Löst Tapes Vol. 4 (Live in Heilbronn 1984)", Download, [2022] [Record Review]

Motörhead - "The Löst Tapes Vol. 4 (Live in Heilbronn 1984)", Download, [2022]

This is the 4th album in the now endless series of so-called Löst Tapes. It is a recording from Heilbronn, a city near Stuttgart in southwest Germany, for those who wondered where the hell that is. It was recorded on December 29 in 1984. So far it has only been released as a digital release, we'll see if it shows up on vinyl later at one of the 150 yearly "Record Store Days" we seem to be getting these years.

The gig was part of the "No Remorse" tour to celebrate that compilation album's release earlier in 1984. Apart from Mr. Motörhead himself, Lemmy, it features Pete Gill on drums and guitarists Würzel and Phil Campbell. It features no tracks from their 1983 studio album "Another Perfect Day", possibly due to the fact that both Animal and Robbo had left the band since that album.

The sound quality is quite unstable at the beginning of the recording. You get used to it as you listen to it, but the sound actually improves having less instability from the tape after the first 3 or 4 songs.

The ferocious energy and speed of the band back then make up for any sound issues, including those Lemmy complains about during the show. Lemmy always complained about technical issues during their gigs, so this is nothing special. Lemmy has a great loud raspy voice here and he is sharp and focused and witty. The band sounds almost chaotic at times but it also has a lot of charm and it certainly rocks. Lemmy apologizes that they didn't bring the Bomber rig with them because they are broke, but they are gonna play the song anyway.

This release is better than the 3rd "Löst Tapes" release, so if you love everything Motörhead, you better go find it somewhere in the digital labyrinth out there.

"I'll come back here anytime and play for you ... if you ask me nicely and you offer me money!"

Rating: 4

Band: Motörhead

Record Title: The Löst Tapes Vol. 4 (Live in Heilbronn 1984)

This Release: 2022

RunTime: 65

Record Format: Download


  • Iron Fist
  • Stay Clean
  • Heart of Stone
  • The Hammer
  • Metropolis
  • Shoot You in the Back
  • Jailbait
  • Killed by Death
  • Ace of Spades
  • Steal Your Face
  • Nothing Up My Sleeve
  • Road Crew Introduction (Adrian)
  • (We Are) The Road Crew
  • Bite the Bullet
  • The Chase Is Better Than the Catch
  • No Class
  • Motörhead
  • Bomber
  • Overkill

Content Type: Record Review

Language: EN

Updated: 2023-01-06 15:57

Created: 2023-01-06 15:26

An error has occurred. This application may no longer respond until reloaded. Reload 🗙