KP says

Hollywood Vampires - "Live In Rio", CD+Bluray, [2023] [Record Review]

Hollywood Vampires - "Live In Rio", CD+Bluray, [2023]

This is a live recording of a concert by Hollywood Vampires, the super-group formed by Alice Cooper, Johnny Depp, Joe Perry. It was recorded live in Rio in 2015 and mostly features songs from the band's self-titled first album from 2015. 

This is an Alice Cooper side-project and you can tell they are enjoying it on stage, playing all the old rock tunes and having fun doing so. There are so many guitarists on stage that they could easily have done without 2 or 3 of them, but why keep it simple when you can go all in. The band plays great, and Alice Cooper's voice is okay, but a bit strained at times like we've known it for years.

The recording features great sound and the pictures are fine. The video is probably based on recordings from the big-screen feed at the live show and looks good. The crowd in Rio is massive and I'm happy not to be caught in the middle of it all, while needing to go to the bathroom. Crowds like this look cool on the TV screen but it's usually not so cool actually being there in real life.

Well known Alice Cooper trooper Tommy Henriksen is obviously part of the band as always, but there are also some guests artists on stage. Especially Zak Starkey makes a big impact by making it a double drummer gig for many of the songs. Lzzy Hale takes over most of the vocals on "Whole Lotta Love", while Andreas Kisser plays some guitar on "School's Out".

My two personal favorite songs from this show are "Jeepster", I just think they nail this T-Rex tune really well, and then there is "7 And 7 Is", it is an old Love tune, but I will always know it for the Alice Cooper cover version on my favorite Alice album "Special Forces".

I wish they would release a live recording spanning both of the group's two studio albums, but maybe we can get that later on. This release certainly captures what is great and fun about this band live and why they keep on rocking to this date.

The band on this recording:

  • Alice Cooper
  • Johnny Depp
  • Joe Perry
  • Tommy Henriksen
  • Bruce Witkin
  • Matt Sorum
  • Duff McKagan

Rating: 4

Band: Hollywood Vampires

Record Title: Live In Rio

This Release: 2023

RunTime: 55

Record Format: CD+Bluray

Record Label: Ear Music

Extra Info:

  • Recorded live in 2015
  • This recording is available in several formats: Blu-ray+CD, DVD+CD, 2LP. The most interesting is the Blu-ray, where you get perfect video and sound combined.
  • 2 x Vinyl, LP, 45 RPM, Album, Limited Edition, Numbered 10.000 copies


  • Raise The Dead
  • My Generation
  • I Got A Line On You
  • Cold Turkey
  • Five To One / Break On Through (To The Other Side)
  • Manic Depression
  • 7 And 7 Is
  • Whole Lotta Love *h
  • Jeepster
  • I'm A Boy *z
  • School's Out *z *k
  • Billion Dollar Babies *z
  • Train Kept A-Rollin' *z
  • Brown Sugar *z

*h: featuring Lzzy Hale

*z: featuring Zak Starkey

*k: featuring Andreas Kisser

Content Type: Record Review

Language: EN

Updated: 2023-06-04 09:31

Created: 2023-06-04 09:08

An error has occurred. This application may no longer respond until reloaded. Reload 🗙